Hoppin’ John!

The picture is kinda bad, but trust me, the bacon makes this de-lish!

The picture is kinda bad, but trust me, the bacon makes this de-lish!

This is a down-home meal that my mom has made ever since I was little. Whenever we were on ski trips, mom would get requests for it. Whenever she’s on a retreat with her women friends, she makes it. I think she’s even made it on one of those multi-family camping trips we used to take.

Apparently, in the South, it is traditional to make hoppin’ john for New Years. It’s supposed to give you good luck.

Well, I think this one-pot, dirt-cheap meal is good luck any day of the year. I’ve always hated peas, by the way (can you tell I was a picky child?). But blackeyed peas were always the exception – they taste more salty than anything else.

I calculated how much it costs to make and it was like $5. And it feeds at least four people!

Here is my mom’s hoppin’ john:

Ingredients:

4 strips of bacon, chopped ($1)

1/2 large yellow onion, chopped (a liberal 50 cents)

1/2 c. long grain rice (30 cents)

1 can diced tomatoes and green chilis – I used fire-roasted (89 cents)

1 can blackeyed peas, with liquid (89 cents)

1/2 c. water (or more, if you need it) (free!)

Fry bacon in a dry, heated skillet until crispy. Transfer to a plate to drain. Pour off all the grease, except 3 Tablespoons. Add the onion and saute until translucent (I LOVE the smell of onions cooking in bacon fat – HELLO!). Stir in the rice for about a minute. Add tomatoes,blackeyed peas, bacon and water. Bring to a simmer, cover with a lid and simmer until the rice is done. This will take 20-40 minutes. Stir. Season to taste.

Serve with freshly baked cornbread and a simple salad.

Enjoy, y’all!

p.s. I hope you are ready for more Southern dishes as I prepare for my big move to North Carolina!

7 responses to “Hoppin’ John!

  1. I made a rice dish last night that used up stuff in my cupboards and fridge. It was brown rice, cooked in chicken broth, black beans, scrambled egg (sounds gross, made it like a breakfast burrito), some salsa, cream cheese, shredded cheese. It’s filling and cheap. Rice and beans make a great foundation for using up odds and ends.

    Next time I’ll go the onion/bacon route.

  2. I absolutely love the smell of onion cooking in bacon fat. There’s something different about it…..mmmm.

  3. You’re moving?????

  4. Yes! It’s been all over Twitter! :)

  5. Pingback: Jalapeno-cheddar cornbread « Seasoned to Taste

  6. Pingback: Pasta all’Amatriciana « Seasoned to Taste

  7. Pingback: Cornish hens, oysters and New Years | Seasoned to Taste

Leave a Reply

