Recipe-free tortilla soup at “Twilight”

So I finally came up for air from my “Twilight” binge to make a chicken tortilla soup for Elle and myself.

We’ve had a stressful week, to say the least, and needed something stress-free and comforting for dinner.

I’ve made this meal so many times that I don’t even look at the recipe anymore. It’s so simple that I usually have most of the ingredients in the cupboard. Please, please make this. It’s healthy AND filling. What a combination!

Preheat the oven to 400 and slice at least eight small, round corn tortillas into strips (I love these, so last night I made at least 10). Toss them with a little olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper, chili powder and cumin (I used seasoning salt, until I realized it has MSG in it!). Spread the strips on a cooking sheet and place in the oven. While you’re preparing the rest of the meal, toss the strips every once in a while until crunchy (and I usually add more spices and a spritz of oil, when needed…spray-olive oil works well for this).

Meanwhile, in a soup pot, cook a couple cloves of chopped garlic in olive oil.

Before they brown, add 8 cups of low-sodium chicken stock (I make my own, so I just just added one tub of that and 1 1/2 of the boxes…it totally depends on how much soup you want to make and how soupy you want it). Then, add one can of drained black beans, 1 cup of salsa (we like the locally made kind in the cheese aisle, Salsa de Wela!), fire-roasted diced green chilis and/or chipotle chilis in adobo sauce. (Note: the salsa usually has enough onions, garlic and other spices you would normally add to a soup.)

Bring the pot to a boil and add chopped raw chicken tenders or shredded meat from a rotisserie chicken.

Simmer until the chicken is cooked through, then turn off the heat.

Stir in the juice of half a lime, a handful of chopped cilantro and 3/4 of the tortilla strips (obviously, you can just use store-bought tortilla chips, but they are higher in fat and sodium and other bad things).

Dutch ovens are best for soups

Dutch ovens are best for soups

Ladle the soup into bowls and top with sour cream, chopped avocado, shredded cheese (jack is good here), the tortilla strips and an extra wedge of lime for juicing.

Now, enjoy! Put the leftovers in the fridge to enjoy for days.

Chicken tortilla soup

Chicken tortilla soup

3 responses to “Recipe-free tortilla soup at “Twilight”

  1. I made tortilla soup a couple of nights ago. My recipe is a bit different from the one you make, but they are both delicious and comforting.

  2. Where ze hell is ze tahini! Also, I thought you put in some duck sauce, and after you turned off the heat, some sesame oil … ?

  3. Heidi, Maybe you should try adding tahini and duck sauce. Is that more what your recipe is like?

Leave a Reply

