A sucker for shortbread

img_2818

I love anything that has a shortbread element. Something about its simplicity, flakiness and structure.

I gave into my craving with Ina Garten’s shortbread hearts, which was unusual for me, because I usually don’t like cookies that require a cookie-cutter.

img_2810

The recipe is simple: cream together 3/4 lb. unsalted butter with 1 c. sugar. Then blend in 3.5 c. flour and 1/4 tsp. salt. Chill for 30 min., then roll out and cut.

img_2812

Sprinkle each heart with more sugar and bake at 350 until slightly golden at the edges.

img_2813

I have to be honest, I thought this recipe was totally going to bomb. As often happens when baking in the High Desert, the dough wasn’t sticky enough. But after chilling the dough, it was better.

Still, I think my texture was a little off. But the taste was good, and that’s most important to me. What is this, Top Chef?

img_2820

One response to “A sucker for shortbread

  1. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

