Gnocci with sage/butter/cider sauce

img_2970

This recipe is easy, takes a long time to prepare, but always impresses. My boyfriend printed off Mario Battali’s recipe for gnocci a couple years ago with virtually no experience in this method of cooking, and it turned out perfect. If he can do it, I feel confident that anyone can (aside from me, because I’m totally intimidated by gnocci). I suppose gnocci is up there with all baked goods, which just generally scare me.

He made the gnocci with four baked potatoes, egg, flour, fresh nutmeg, parmesan and rosemary. Then he cut them into fat pieces and put a pot of water on to boil.

img_29631

While the gnocci cooked, I prepared the sauce, which I cut out of The Bulletin a few years ago. Melt 1/4 c. unsalted butter and add 1/2 c. apple cider. Stir in 5 shredded sage leaves and 1/2 tsp. S&P. Reduce by half, around 10 minutes.

img_2967

When the gnocci is cooked (floats to the top), strain the sauce and drizzle over the gnocci. Top with toasted pine nuts, more sage and parmesan cheese. Sooooo good!

img_2972

Leave a Reply

