Roast pork tenderloin

img_3057

This is another one of those dishes that makes your house smell amazing.

My boss gave me the recipe and it’s become my stand-by for comforting pork (from the discount food bin, of course) and a perfect gravy. I make it with mashed potatoes, of course.

You’ll definitely need a big skillet that can go from the stove top to the oven for this. I actually had to borrow one when I first started making it.

In that skillet, melt 2 T butter and 2 T olive oil over high heat. Add the pork tenderloin and sear on all sides for a golden-brown crust. Then, place in a 325 degree oven for 30-40 minutes (my oven took 40 minutes). The pan will still be sizzling and popping. The pork is ready when still slightly pink.

While that cooks, make mashed potatoes.

When the pork is done, remove it to a plate and tent with foil.

Put the pan back on the stove on medium heat (wear oven mitts!) and spoon in 2 T flour. Whisk together to form a roux. Whisk in a couple cups of chicken stock and keep whisking to dissolve any clumps. Let the gravy thicken and add celery salt (I used seeds), garlic salt (I used powder) and salt and pepper to taste.

Slice the pork, place it on the mashed potatoes and spoon over the gravy. Serve something green on the side, such as sugar snap peas or broccoli.

img_30582

Ugh, I always eat way too much of this and end up with a stomach ache! Enjoy, friends.

One response to “Roast pork tenderloin

  1. Pingback: Herb-crusted pork roast « Seasoned to Taste

Leave a Reply

