Better-than-Cinnabon rolls

Fresh from the oven and waiting for frosting...

Fresh from the oven and waiting for frosting...

I may  not have a bun in the oven…but I sure look like I do after eating these amazing cinnamon rolls that I’ve been slaving over for 24 hours. Oh sweet little baby Jesus… I am in a sugar coma.

Note: I usually hate sweet things in the morning. I’m more of a chicken-fried steak with gravy girl than a french toast with whipped cream girl.

I saw this recipe on Smitten Kitchen Friday and I won’t even try to recreate it here. Working with active yeast is kind of annoying and time consuming. For example, last time I used yeast, it was to make pizza dough for my chicken-pesto calzones. I guess my house was too cold, because my dough barely rose after like five hours.

This time, I fed the yeast sugar and let it rise in an oven warmed to 170 degrees and turned off. It rose perfectly.

A couple differences between my recipe and Smitten Kitchen’s: I didn’t use rapid-rise yeast, so it took twice as long; I used 1% milk instead of whole; and 1/3 less fat cream cheese instead of full for the frosting. It still tasted decadent! Um…and I also rolled my dough out more than I should have, but it produced twice as many rolls. Guilty.

Below is a picture of one of three pans of cinnamon rolls I made. And yes, there are just two of us living here, plus one kitty who only eats dry food.

Just turned out of the pan - your house never smelled so good!

Just turned out of the pan - your house never smelled so good!

Also, if you don’t have five hours in the morning to make cinnamon rolls from scratch, here’s my advice: Make the dough and the rolls the night before, without baking. Cover them in their pans with plastic wrap, then put them in the fridge. The next morning, take them out and let them rise in a warm, draft-free place. Finally, bake them off and shmear with cream-cheese frosting.

4 oz. cream cheese, 1/2 stick butter, 1 c. powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp. vanilla

4 oz. cream cheese, 1/2 stick butter, 1 c. powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp. vanilla

And then you’ll have this deliciousness – I recommend this recipe for when you have company staying over. Sure, it takes a while and is a bit of a pain, but you know what they say about pleasure and pain….

Don't drool on your keyboard

Don't drool on your keyboard

3 responses to “Better-than-Cinnabon rolls

  1. Damn I wish I were at your house this morning!

  2. And by the way, that’s the most sensuous photo of frosting I’ve ever seen.

  3. Ooo-la-la!

Leave a Reply

