A poor girl’s dinner

It’s not until something changes in your life do you realize … that you are actually a bum.

The boyfriend has been gone barely 24 hours and I’m eating like a freshman at a community college. I can’t tell you how many tortillas with melted cheese I’ve eaten. They aren’t even quesadillas!

I even bought a ton of groceries yesterday and still ended up wondering, What am I going to have for dinner? Thank goodness for those tortillas, I tell you.

The next night, I made creative use of some things I had stocked during richer days and had a truly gourmet meal. At lunch, I took a frozen steak out of the fridge. You guessed it – Safeway discount meat bin from a couple weeks ago.

When I came home from work, I finished defrosting the steak in the sink with cold running water. Meanwhile, I pulled out a bag of frozen broccoli and put half the bag in a glass bowl. Then, I heated a skillet over medium and added 1 T butter and 1 T olive oil until hot. When the steak was completely thawed, I sprinkled steak seasoning on each side and seared it in the pan until almost medium rare (you’ll have to check it – 4 min. on each side for me). Put the steak on a plate with foil over it.

Meanwhile, add a splash of water to the broccoli and cook it in the microwave for about 5 minutes.

While that cooks, put the steak pan back on the medium heat and add one chopped shallot (mine was at least two weeks old and still good!). Stir with a wooden spoon until cooked, then add a cup of beef stock (left over from short ribs) and a splash of red wine ($5.99 at Newport Market) that I was already drinking. I scraped up the brown bits and reduced the jus a little, then added chopped parsley (at least one week old, but still good when kept in a vase!).

Look at that color! It smelled amazing. If you don’t have beef stock, use chicken or veggie stock. Or water, even. If you don’t have shallots, add a quarter of an onion.

img_3386

I served myself some brococli, a cut of the steak and a piece of buttered toast. Spoon the sauce over everything and enjoy!

img_3384

Leave a Reply

