Sesame-soy tofu

IMG_3489

I have issues with cooking tofu at home. I just never get it as good as you find at an Asian restaurant, so I usually don’t buy it. But I saw this recipe in The Denver Post and I thought I’d try it again.

I like this recipe because it is healthy and cheap – I estimate it cost about $5 and feeds two people with extra to spare. But it doesn’t make TOO much, so I would recommend if for my single friends, too.

The recipe calls for Korean chili powder, but I just used whatever I had in the cupboard.

Ingredients:

1 package of firm tofu (mine was 15 ounces)

3 green onions, sliced on an angle

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 T soy sauce

1 T sesame oil

1 T toasted sesame seeds

1 tsp. chili powder

1 T vegetable oil

Method:

Drain the tofu over the sink, then slice into 1/2-inch strips.

Combine green onions, garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil, sesame seeds and chili powder in a small bowl.

Heat veggie oil in a large nonstick skillet over high heat. Place all the tofu slices flat and cook until they are browned on one side. Flip them and brown the other side. Reduce the heat and spoon the green onion mixture over the tofu evenly. Cover the pan and let the tofu steam for 2-3 minutes.

To serve, spoon rice on a plate (I used brown Basmati rice from Costco) and top with tofu and its seasonings.

This dish doesn’t make a lot of sauce, so you might want to top with more soy sauce, or add some water when you are steaming the tofu.

Either way, it got two thumbs up in my household!

Leave a Reply

