Hammy sammy

Nom nom nom

Nom nom nom

If you saw my post on the Venetian panini, then you know that I love anything that includes Gruyere cheese, Dijon mustard and meat. Preferably fried.

I saw Ina Garten of “Barefoot Contessa” make this appetizer, which she called Ham and Chesse in Puff Pastry. We call it the Hammy sammy. ‘Cause that’s what it is.

I jotted the recipe down to make for a party later on, but I just couldn’t resist a little preview. After all, it’s never good to entertain with a dish you’ve never made before. I warn you – this is disturbingly good. I brought a few squares as snacks for my friends at work and I “think” they both enjoyed it….I think one friend drooled on me a little.

Ingredients:

1 package frozen puff pastry (2 pieces), defrosted

2 T Dijon mustard

1/4 lb. black forest ham, sliced

1/2 lb. Swiss Gruyere cheese, sliced (I shredded it and only bought 6 oz. – SO expensive!)

1 egg, beaten with 1 T water, for egg wash

Method:

Preheat oven to 450. Place a piece of parchment paper on a sheet pan.

On a floured surface, roll out 1 sheet of puff pastry until it is 10×12. Place it on the sheet pan and brush the center with the mustard, leaving a 1-inch border. Cover the mustard evenly with the ham slices and then the cheese – it will look like way too much cheese, but leave a 1-inch border again. Brush the border with egg wash.

Roll out the second sheet of puff pastry to fit over the first one. Cut the edges to make them straight, then crimp the edges together with a fork or your fingers. Brush the top with egg wash and cut a few slices to let the steam escape.

Pop it in the oven and bake for 20-25 min., until puffed and golden brown.

IMG_3557

Let it cool a few minutes, then serve hot or warm. You will not believe how yummy this is – perfect for a party because you can assemble it ahead of time and just bake it the day-of. Enjoy, friends!

IMG_3565

4 responses to “Hammy sammy

  1. Oh lordy. It’s a tray of ham and cheese croissants, people. How can it be wrong?

  2. Oh my gawd!! That looks sooooo good!

  3. Laura Spradley

    Destined to be my new favorite appetizer.

  4. If you can keep yourself from eating it all as a midnight snack! I think next time, I’ll add more Dijon mustard.

Leave a Reply

