Pear-almond cake with chocolate chunks

Almond Joy

At first I didn’t think I would like pear and chocolate together. It just sounded weird, somehow. But this cake is really tasty, especially when served cold. My only problem with the recipe is that the batter is thick and there isn’t much of it. I found it difficult to spread in two layers in my spring-form pan. Next time, I will put it all perhaps in one layer, with the pears on top. We’ll see. Also, you do not need a standing mixer for this.

You can find the recipe at RachaelRayMag.com. It is a basic cake batter layered with sliced pears, dark chocolate chunks and then drizzled with an almond glaze. Those almonds on top really pull it all together. I need to bake more with almonds. The pear is really moist and the chocolate adds a nice contrast. Plus, extra powdered sugar on top is always good.

The “rustic” cake is supposedly Roman in origin, so take that as you will. The result: a lovely cake for any occasion, with pears and chocolate and almonds. I’m a chocolate-pear convert!

IMG_4564

Enjoy, friends! xoxo

4 responses to “Pear-almond cake with chocolate chunks

  1. Heidi, I knew I would have you at “chocolate.” šŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Peach and almond galette | Seasoned to Taste

  3. Pingback: Roasted Pear and Chocolate Chunk Scones | Seasoned to Taste

Leave a Reply

