Spaghetti squash with turkey meatballs

My day starts at 5:45 a.m., when I slowly make my way out of soft, warm sheets and onto a cold, wooden floor in the dark of the morning. From then on, I am running – whether it’s for my marathon training or from meeting to meeting at work. My day ends with friends, eating cheese and crackers on a lanai or having a home-cooked meal in a  backyard garden or dining out at a new restaurant.

On rare nights, I have an evening alone where I indulge in the quiet and lack of responsibility. I cook a delicious meal with leftovers for lunch, do a load of laundry, pour myself a glass of wine and relax with all those issues of Bon Appetit that I’ve been neglecting. Sometimes, I’ll multitask by catching up on my Bravo shows.

This next meal is perfect for such occasions.

Spaghetti squash is the one thing keeping me from total anti-squashville. It is sort of fun like spaghetti and bland enough to absorb whatever flavors you add to it. This Martha Stewart recipe makes a play on the spaghetti-and-meatballs dish, but it is much, much healthier. And some have said it is quite tasty. I doubled the meatball recipe so I could use the leftovers in a little aglio e olio the next night.

Spaghetti Squash with Turkey Meatballs and Spinach

Ingredients:

  • 1 spaghetti squash, halved lengthwise
  • EVOO
  • S&P
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tsp chopped fresh oregano
  • 1/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 T dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 package baby spinach
  • 1 c. organic chicken stock

Preheat oven to 375. Season cut sides of squash with salt and paper. Bake, cut sides down, on a baking sheet until tender, about 45 minutes. Cool and scrape flesh into a bowl (you can microwave these as well, instead). Drain before using.

Heat 1 tsp. EVOO in  medium skillet over medium. Cook onion and garlic, 1o minutes. Add oregano, cook 30 seconds. Divide between 2 bowls.

Stir 2 T cheese into one bowl of onion mixture. Mix in breadcrumbs, turkey, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper. Form into balls.

Heat 4 tsp oil in large skillet over medium. Brown meatballs on all sides, 6 minutes. Transfer to a plate and repeat as necessary. To pan, return remaining onion mixture, chicken stock, and meatballs. Gently simmer, slightly covered, until meatballs cooked through, 5 min. Add spinach and cook until just wilted, 1 minute.

To serve, spoon spaghetti squash onto plates, then top with meatballs and spinach-sauce. Top with remaining Parmesan cheese.

The meatballs really have great flavor – be sure to brown them nice and dark. Enjoy, friends! xoxo

2 responses to “Spaghetti squash with turkey meatballs

  1. i will definitely make this. and by definitely, I mean that i’ll add it to the list of Anna-approved recipes to make when I finally get around to cooking.

  2. Definitely want to try!

Leave a Reply

