Caesar salad

Once in a while, I’ll be inspired to make my own salad dressing, but usually, I just reach for the Newman’s. One salad that I love entertaining with is a classic Caesar, made with anchovies, Worcestershire, Dijon, garlic, Parmesan and lemon. I’ve made it before with raw egg, which honestly tastes a little weird, but this recipe doesn’t need it. I love the inclusion of Parmesan mixed into the dressing, giving it a richer body.

You must, must, must use anchovies in this. If you don’t have the whole fillets, use about 1 1/2 tablespoons of anchovy paste. I used fillets and they smelled HORRIBLE, as usual. I mean, it was gross. Those tiny hairy bones, the fishy smell, I could hardly take it. But you know I love cooking with anchovies, and they truly did melt right into the flavorful dressing, giving it a nice savory, almost nutty edge.

Mixed with crisp romaine and my garlic croutons, this was a wonderful first course at a recent dinner party.

Adapted from Bon Appetit

Caesar Salad with Garlic Sourdough Croutons

Ingredients:

For croutons –

  • 6 slices sourdough bread, cut into cubes
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • EVOO, S&P to taste

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Toss bread with garlic, olive oil and S&P. Bake until toasted on all sides, about 15-20 min., mixing occasionally. Let cool in pan.

For salad –

  • 4 anchovy fillets, finely chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1-2 large hearts of romaine lettuce, chopped into bite-size pieces
  • Chopped fresh Italian parsley
Whisk first 6 ingredients in small bowl. Gradually whisk in oil, then 1/2 cup cheese.
Toss lettuce, croutons, 1/4 cup cheese, and dressing in bowl. Sprinkle with parsley and season to taste with pepper.

The sauce is light and tangy, and I swear you can’t taste the anchovies and all their fishiness. The croutons are amazing – as my roommate said, “They are like crack croutons!” Next time you reach for the bottles Caesar dressing, consider this, instead. You’ll just love it. Enjoy, friends! xoxo

2 responses to “Caesar salad

  1. I’m loving the ShabbyBlogs.com link you have. Is this your creation or a friend?

  2. I actually just found them on another blog – Shabby Chic Blogging!

Leave a Reply

