Breakfast Salad

I know I should eat more salad, but I don’t. It’s not that it’s hard to make, or bad tasting, but I usually feel like it comes between me and what I really want – my entree. I realize that one way around this is to make the salad the entree.

The idea of a breakfast salad is yet another excuse to lightly fry an egg and serve it over colorful things that can absorb its goodness. I made this breakfast salad for a weekend lunch, tossing ripe tomatoes with avocado, prosciutto, basil, olive oil, salt and pepper and Parm-Reg cheese. I finished it with an egg fried over easy, and more seasonings on top.

Need a recipe? No you don’t:

Breakfast Salad

Layer together:

  • Handful chopped tomatoes
  • Half avocado, sliced
  • 3 thin slices prosciutto di parma
  • 1 T torn basil leaves

Then drizzle with EVOO and sprinkle with S&P and grated Parmesan cheese. Toss lightly so as not to break up the avocado. Top with a fried, or poached, egg. Voila!

Happy Easter, friends! xoxo

6 responses to “Breakfast Salad

  1. No vinegar? Maybe with the egg you don’t need it. Lovely dish!

  2. The tomatoes provided a little acidity, but a dash of vinegary hot sauce wouldn’t hurt!

  3. Wow! I love this idea! I have a hard time liking breakfast food and I think this is something I will definitely enjoy. Thanks!

  4. This was fantastic – great mix of flavors, even without an egg (we just did tomatoes, basil, avocado, prosciutto, black pepper, olive oil). I could even eat this without the prosciutto, I think; the avocado lends enough rich/fatty flavor. Tomorrow, will try it w/egg.

  5. Pingback: The Week’s avocado affair | Eating The Week

Leave a Reply

