Edamame Hummus

When I first saw somebody post a recipe for edamame hummus on Pinterest, I knew I was on to something. Never a lover of garbanzo beans, edamame made perfect sense – it is full of protein and other goodies and has the same consistency as chick peas. But unlike chick peas, I love the taste of edamame – that light umami flavor that makes you want to follow it with a big sip of Sapporo beer.

So I made this for the Super Bowl, bringing leftovers to work. It was very popular and quickly disappeared, along with the Whole Foods fried tortilla chips I served along with it. But it’s also wonderful with cut veggies.

Here is my adaptation, which I took from a couple different sources…

Edamame Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb. shelled edamame
  • 1/4 c. tahini
  • 1/4 c. water
  • Zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 garlic clove, smashed
  • 3/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp ground corriander
  • 3 T EVOO
  • 1 T chopped fresh parsley

If edamame is frozen, thaw using  package instructions.

Place all ingredients except olive oil in food processor and blend until smooth. With motor running, add 2 T olive oil. I like mine a bit on the thick side.

Transfer to serving bowl and drizzle with remaining oil. I liked this recipe because it wasn’t too heavy on the tahini. I don’t want my hummus overly tahini-flavored.

Enjoy, friends! xoxo

Leave a Reply

