Chicken, green onion and glass noodles stir-fry

img_30381

My second year of college, I moved off campus and started cooking for the first time. To encourage me, my mom bought me a cookbook that she knew I would love. It was, and is, called Simply Thai Cooking and has all these authentic Thai dishes full of exotic ingredients you can never find (at least not in Small Town, USA)! But it’s easy to get around any ingredients you can’t find.

img_3042

A recipe I randomly tried three years after receiving the book has become my go-to dish if I ever have any green onions left over from something, and glass noodles in the cupboard (these are my favorite noodle in the whole world! I put them in soups and stir-frys).

This recipe is simple and comes together in less than 15 mintues (after you’ve prepped all the ingredients). In fact, it’s so quick that I think I made it during my lunch break one time. And all the seasonings are probably in your cupboard already if you’ve ever made Asian food.

I’ve adjusted the recipe a bit.

Ingredients:

8 oz. glass noodles (I can never find this at Safeway, so I went to Newport Market. I think I had trouble getting it at Ray’s, too. FYI). I got the Thai Kitchen brand – look for the thinnest noodles you can find.

2 chicken breasts, sliced into bite-size pieces

2 cloves of minced garlic

2 eggs

3 green onions, chopped

Red pepper flakes

1 T oyster sauce

2 T soy sauce

1 tsp dark soy sauce (tamari)

1 T sugar

7 T water

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp sesame oil

half a white onion, chopped

6 T canola oil

Sriracha red pepper sauce and toasted sesame seeds to garnish.

Boil a pasta pot with water and add the noodles. Turn off the heat and let them soak until just al dente, about 3 minutes (it goes quick!) drain and reserve.

Meanwhile, heat 3 T oil in your wok or skillet over high. When hot, add the garlic, a dash of red pepper flakes and the chicken. Stir-fry until browned, reduce the heat to medium and cook the chicken through (if the garlic starts to turn brown, lower that heat!). Remove to a plate.

Mix the soy sauces, oyster sauce, pepper, water and sugar (add a squirt of fish sauce, too, if you have any). Set aside.

Add the rest of the oil to the skillet and crack the two eggs into the oil when it’s hot. Lightly scramble them, then add the noodles, chicken and the soy sauce mixture. Toss to combine and add in the green and white onions. After 2 more minutes of stir-frying, add the sesame oil and mix for another couple minutes.

To serve, pile on a plate or bowl and top with Sriracha sauce and toasted sesame seeds. Of course, you don’t have to add the hot sauce if you don’t want to.

This makes plenty for leftovers – in fact, I’ll probably eat more at around the midnight hour…

Drool…

img_3041

2 responses to “Chicken, green onion and glass noodles stir-fry

  1. Yum–I’m making this soon!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Chicken, green onion and glass noodles stir-fry | Seasoned to Taste -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment