Daily Archives: January 10, 2011

Smoked salmon and apple carpaccio

My latest fave for brunch: a dish that tastes great and requires no actual cooking! From the cookbook of Giada de Laurentiis, this dish layers the smoky creaminess of salmon with the crisp tartness of green apple, the briney bite of capers and fruity essence of good extra-virgin olive oil. I crack a little black pepper over the top, too, for extra seasoning.

Giada makes hers with toast points, but I find that completely unnecessary.

Smoked salmon and apple carpaccio

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. smoked salmon, sliced thin
  • 1 Granny Smith apple, cored and sliced thin, then kept in a bowl of lemon juice-water to prevent browning
  • 2 T capers, drained
  • EVOO
  • Cracked black pepper

Layer the salmon on a serving platter. Follow with apple slices and capers. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with cracked pepper, to taste.

Serve!

I recently made this for a lovely brunch with a few of my girlfriends. It went perfectly with the other dishes, which included healthy chocolate-cherry scones, fruit salad, mimosas, cinnamon rolls, spicy ham-and-cheese potatoes au gratin…

And this wonderful bacon, leek and Gruyere quiche:

I loaded up a heavy plate and took more home – I love a party where you get a doggie bag!

Enjoy your next brunch, friends! xoxo