Daily Archives: February 6, 2009

Pucker up

Lemony goodness

Lemony goodness

I’ve been craving lemon bars in the worst way. I attempted, and failed, to make the perfect lemon bars earlier this week. So I tried a different recipe last night, after a dinner of chicken devon over rice (another post).

I like my lemon bars so tart that they make my sweetie sweat under the eyes (as he is wont to do). I need the custard light and the crust a perfect shortbread.

I made Gourmet Magazine’s lemon bars, which I printed off The Food Network Web site. It is easy and delicious.

Remember: lemon bars are best chilled COMPLETELY. So don’t even think about cutting in until they are room temperature or chilled (I keep mine in the fridge).

Shortbread crust:

Heat oven at 350. Process 3/4 cup unsalted butter (cut into cubes) with 2 cups flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 tsp. salt. Press it into a 13x9x2 inch glass dish (glass bakes best for this) and bake until lightly golden. Take out of the oven and lower the temperature to 300.

Custard:

Whisk 4 eggs with 1.5 cups sugar until combined. Stir in 3/4 cup fresh lemon juice (roughly 2-3 large lemons) and 1/3 cup flour. Pour this over the hot shortbread. Bake at 300 until the custard is set, roughly 30 minutes. Once cooled, dust powdered sugar over the top.

And that’s how I got my lemon bar fix.