Pork Belly and Peach Risotto

Have you missed my regular risotto recipes? Don’t worry, darlings, they’re back! I had a special night all to myself recently. The house was quiet and tidied, it was a beautiful night and I had plenty of food and wine. After making a large batch of pesto from the 1 lb. of basil in my CSA box, I made this deliciously decadent risotto that would surprise you.

I’m really into the whole fruit-in-risotto thing. First the strawberry-lobster risotto, and now this: peaches and pork belly. It WORKS, I tell you. Saltiness from the pork, sweetness from the fruit, creaminess from the risotto. One could just eat and eat…

I’d like to point out that this is the first dish I made in my new Le Creuset kiwi-colored pan:

See my little LC salt and pepper shakers in the background? Cutes! Sigh, I’m as proud of this pan as … a car person would be about a shiny new vehicle. !

On to the recipe – again, I sorta made this up as I went, so please adjust to your liking.

Pork Belly and Peach Risotto

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz pork belly slab, or pancetta, cubed
  • 2 large peaches, peeled, pits removed and chopped into cubes
  • 3 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 4 c. chicken stock
  • 1/2 c. dry white wine
  • 1 1/2 c. arborio rice
  • S&P
  • 1/4 c. Parm-Reg cheese
  • Fresh basil, for garnish

In medium saucepan, heat chicken stock to boil. Reduce to simmer and keep ready.

In large skillet or pan, heat over medium. Add pork and cook until much of the fat is rendered and is nicely browned. Remove to drain on paper towels. Add rice to pan and stir to coat in the bacon fat, reducing heat to low. Pull the thyme leaves off and mix them in, too.

Add wine and stir, scraping up browned bits at the bottom. Keep stirring until moisture is absorbed, then add 1/2 c. simmering chicken stock and stir constantly until absorbed. Repeat with the adding of chicken stock and stirring until the risotto is thick, creamy and has just lost its grainy bite – approx. 20 min. You will probably use all of the chicken stock.

Turn off the heat and add the cheese, stirring until melted, and add the bacon back in. Stir in the peach pieces and taste for seasonings (mine did not need any salt or pepper).

To serve, plate a large portion and sprinkle with basil leaves. I must insist on the basil. I at first added just as a color thing. But the taste! It really makes this something special, so I have included it in the recipe.

Ridiculous. Biting into the thick pork belly and then the peaches – a wonderful combination of textures and flavors.

Enjoy, friends! xoxo

7 responses to “Pork Belly and Peach Risotto

  1. Looks delicious! I heart my le creuset and use it for nearly everything! I kind of regret my color choice, so I think I may need to expand my collection 😉

    • What color did you choose? I couldn’t decide, so I just bought different colors. I’m not really a color-schemer, though.

  2. Man, the possibility of landing le cruset is pretty much my #1 reason for wanting to get hitched.

    Oh, I mean, love blah blah blah

  3. Awesome! Pork and peaches, my summer diet.:) I love risotto too and think this a great pairing.

  4. I LOVE the kiwi colour shallow casserole. Where did you buy it. I can’t find Kiwi anywhere 😦

    • LOVE all things Kiwi. Got the matching spoon holder, too. I got mine at the Le Creuset store in Burlington, N.C. Maybe the color is now discontinued?

  5. Pingback: One funky fruit salad and fruit recipes you’ll really like | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Leave a comment