Braised Beef Short Ribs

Meh.

Meh.

I’ve wanted to make short ribs for a long time. I’ve seen them on The Food Network, I’ve seen them on blogs and, finally, I saw them in the discount meat bin.

I can’t lie – they were kind of a big, fat pain in the you-know-what. And honestly, I wasn’t blown away with the result. I’d rather eat a pot roast if I’m going to braise something for three hours! At least that has more than three bites of meat.

I basically used the recipe from Smitten Kitchen, with a little Simply Recipes in there. I like how Smitten Kitchen roasted the ribs after they had braised. Gave it that extra flavor. Still, I thought there was too much sauce for not enough meat.

First, you sear the short ribs (which, of course, you marinated overnight with pepper and thyme).

img_3350

Then sautee your aromatics…

img_3351

Add a bottle of red wine, a half a bottle of port and some beef stock and braise for three hours. Blah blah blah, strain the sauce, reduce and serve over mashed potatoes.

img_3359

Again, I’d rather have a pot roast.

2 responses to “Braised Beef Short Ribs

  1. Poor sad little rib stranded on a mashed potato island!

  2. Pingback: Beef short ribs with cheddar polenta « Seasoned to Taste

Leave a Reply

