Seared Scallops with Pancetta and Radicchio

I’m writing this recipe even though I didn’t *love* it. However, I feel that the ingredients and seasonings were really great – I just don’t like radicchio. I’m sorry, but even with sugar and vinegar added, the radicchio was just too bitter to enjoy. That’s even with pancetta drippings all over it! Maybe my radicchio was old or something?

Anyway, if you love radicchio, you will love this. The soft, buttery scallops on top, the crispy pancetta, the blooming florals of rosemary and the sweet vinegar mixture drizzled over the top. It smelled heavenly.

I really hope somebody tries this and has more success than me! For now, radicchio just isn’t my favorite.

Seared Scallops with Pancetta and Radicchio

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • 1 head radicchio
  • 2 T cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • 6 large scallops, cleaned and patted dry
  • Kosher salt and pepper
  • 6 oz. pancetta, small diced
  • EVOO
  • 1/2 medium red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 T minced fresh rosemary
  • 1 large garlic clove, chopped

Remove outer leaves from radicchio and cut head in half through root end, then cut each half into 4 wedges and remove white core. Set aside.

In a small bowl, dissolve sugar into vinegar. Set aside.

Season scallops with salt and pepper. Heat large skilled (cast iron is best) over medium heat until hot. Add pancetta and cook, stirring, until crisp, 5 min. Remove to paper towels to drain and pour off all but 3 T fat.

Increase heat to medium-high. Add scallops and sear until golden brown on each side, 2-3 min. per side. Transfer to plate and cover to keep warm.

Add onion and rosemary to the skillet and cook, stirring, until onion is softened, 3 min. Add garlic and stir 15-30 seconds, until fragrant. Add radicchio and pancetta, season with salt and pepper and cook, tossing gently, until radicchio is wilted, 2-3 min. Take skillet off heat and pour vinegar mixture over. Toss to combine.

To serve, plate radicchio and then top with scallops.

Enjoy, friends! xoxo

4 responses to “Seared Scallops with Pancetta and Radicchio

  1. This looks so delicious but unfortunately I just don’t like radicchio, either. I’ve also completely given up on attempting to cook scallops… they’re so hard to get right! This dish looks amazing though.

  2. I am back again just to drool over that first picture. I am thinking that I want this for dinner as I cannot get this dish out of my head.

Leave a comment